The Gift


Dad's 89th birthday 010

It has been a long journey – three years since we lost Mom and nearly one year since we lost Dad.  I have l learned to be patient, to breathe, and to accept.  It was the final “acceptance”  that has been the most difficult. 

I have now, however:

– accepted that I am now the one who must take up the role of the family elder

– accepted that life carries on even when it changes

– accepted that things always work out of the best

– accepted that there is a season for everything

– accepted that I cannot always get what I want – but I tend to get what I need

– accepted that true friends are always there to support and guide

– accepted that it can be difficult to age and lose your friends

– accepted there is a difference between growing old and being old

– accepted that it is important to accept gifts – as much as to give gifts

The greatest gift Mom and Dad could give to my brother and I was to be raised in the culture of family they crafted for us.  Our culture is unique; We cry at the drop of a hat.  We can be so terribly sentimental and attached to things. We can be sad when meals are not shared with our children or partners.  We have faith in each other. We like to use good dishes.  We like to cook from scratch.  We like to quote Robbie Burns. We recognize celebrations and we celebrate – any occasion can become a celebration.  We value life.  We respect others.  We always say please and thank-you.  We like to make frugal purchases.  We love being outside with our hands in the dirt.  This is our culture.  This was our gift. 

TTFN

Categories: Family and Friends, Life After Dad, Life's Lessons, Mom | Tags: , , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “The Gift

  1. Stacey what incredible gifts. I hope to give some of these same gifts to my children. What a legacy of love.

  2. Such a rich enduring gift. How wonderful is that! I very much like your distinction between growing old and being old.

    • That – was a lesson learned from my parents – another Gift! Thank-you for visiting always – Gallivanta!

  3. You’ve given me food for thought … what will my children feel were their gifts…..

  4. A wonderful gift from your parents A true gift of love!

    • Indeed – thanks to support from fellow bloggers like you, I can see the gift as something positive! Merci!

  5. That list of acceptances is wisdom at its best. Wonderful thoughts. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

