June 25, 1944


Preamble:  I found a journal that Dad used to write in.  I guess it’s okay if I read and repeat now… I’m not sure where he began his stories.  I’ll just repeat from the first page.  These entries are now “history”.  Fascinating to read about his experiences and feelings.  Hope you enjoy.  I shall publish excerpts from his diary from time to time.

 

June 25, 1944

“Left Brantford at 12:00 arrived Toronto 1:30.  Picked up airman going to Christie Street who had been washed out as a pilot – had been in navy prior to this and survived one torpedoing.  Left for New Lowell 3:30 and got home via Barrie 5:30. Went to YPS  and played crocinole. Rather boring evening.  Sure wish I was back with Paula. ”

 

June 26, 1944

“Slept till noon.  Went to Creemore but saw very few people I knew.  Dropped in at Mumberson’s on the way back and got all the news of Bob who is away overseas.  Federation of Agriculture meeting here tonight – Dad is President.  Would have liked to go out but stayed and met everyone.  Very pleasant surprise today – letter from Paula.  Mailed an answer tonight.”

The Ultimate Board Game

Haven’t seen this game for years!

 

Categories: Dad's WWII Diary, Duff History | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “June 25, 1944

  1. Wow Stacy what a find! It is so awesome to be able to share my fathers letters. I have learned so much about the war and about Dad. Can’t wait for more!

    • Me too – I find I have to pace myself or I get lost in the stories. You must feel the same way?

      • Yes! I also have to pace myself. It is very hard right now cause Dad and Mom will marry and Dad goes overseas. I just want to read more letters but have to limit myself.

  2. So sweet – thinking of his sweetheart.

  3. Hope you had a great Thanksgiving and are in the midst of a great Thanksgiving weekend!

    • Thank-you. Actually, we have a TON of snow just overnight. Today, much time was spent shoveling. I hope that YOU had / have a wonderful Thanksgiving too. TTFN

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

