10 000 and counting: Thank-you


A toast to life!

Mom and Dad toasting at their 40th anniversary

Yesterday was Remembrance Day and to honour my Dad, Flight Lieutenant WJ Duff, I tried to promote readers to check out Dad’s WWII stories.  I made an appeal to have 1, 000 “reads”.  He never thought anyone would be interested in his stories.

Yet, yesterday, with the help of fellow bloggers, Dad’s stories reached 2, 000 of you and that brought his total reads to over 10 000:  my goal.

A million thank-yous to all of you who helped me to remember Dad and his efforts to establish peace.  What an honour it would have been for Dad to see this kind of response.

Although my heart remains heavy as it has only been since June that he has, “moved to a better address”, I know that he is a peace and thankful for his remembrance.

Today happens to also be the day – two years today – when Mom, Paula Duff (ne Malloff) passed away very unexpectedly.  It was very difficult on Dad to lose his bride of 61 years but he was a trooper.  He remembered her every morning when he got up out of bed – every meal at the dining room table – every glass of wine – every celebration – every night as he lay down to rest.  And so did the rest of us.  She was with us as Dad remembered her to intensely.  It seems that our memory of Dad remembering her is now imprinted firmly into my mind.

Mom.  Paula.  Wife.  Daughter.  Nurse.  Aunt.  Teacher.  She was beautiful.

Today – we will remember Mom.

We will, as my daughter Katya advised me, remember her for her warmth and security, for her caring friendship and the memories that will live on in our hearts.  She is in pain no longer.  She will cook and sew to her hearts content.  I think there is quite a bit of “Nana” in my daughter.

So – here’s to all of our Moms and Dads who we hold dear in our hearts.  And here’s to one day when we will all meet again.   TTFN

Categories: Family and Friends, Mom | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “10 000 and counting: Thank-you

  1. Cheers! To Paula!

  2. To lovely Paula with Bill by her side! 🙂

  3. I thought I saw confetti falling from the sky today. It must have been from your mom’s anniversary in heaven celebration. RIP Mrs. Duff.
    {Hugs}

  4. What a great idea my dad would have loved to tell all his stories but I still have a chance with my mum who Im going to visit in UK tomorrow..x

    • Oh, I’m so pleased for you. I cannot tell you how thankful I am to have captured some of the stories – and the time that we spent doing the recording of stories together is priceless. Good for you! I will follow you to support your work with your mum. TTFN

  5. Pingback: 2012 The Last Post « A Western Buddhist's Travels

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

