The Photo Frame in the Front Room


My first greeting in the morning flashes as a random light from the front room.

The source of the light is clear and I welcome it as equally as it welcomes me.

“Good morning, Mom.”, I say to the photo of Mom that flashes up on the digital photo frame.  “Good  morning, Dad.”, I say to the next image of Dad that appears on the screen.  The light from the photo frame seems to be getting brighter as the morning light begins to appear even later.

The images light up the room as much as they light my heart.

I move closer and stand by the frame for a while, just watching as my childhood flashes before me.

  • There’s lady – our first dog, anticipating a treat that Dad is holding to reward her for “sitting pretty”.
  • dad and I sitting on the balcony of his condominium
  • Mom – making her first attempt at using her new computer
  • Mom – wearing the neck brace that she had crafted to support her neck
  • Norman Kee at the farm
  • Mom, Dad, and I on the beach in Cuba.  Dad was standing without his walker then
  • Dad walking me down the aisle to marry Kevin.

And then reality hits – its time to go to school.  I turn away and think, “oh, just a few more.”  And I’m trapped by history again.

I love the frame – I hate the frame.

The memories are comforting and disturbing at the same time.

I visited Mom and Dad yesterday – prompted by seeing a little old lady at the grocery store who reminded me so intensely of Mom.  I had to leave the store quickly so that I would not draw attention to myself as I began to cry.  Funny how the emotions can be so suddenly intense.

  • There’s Tessie and her family at Dad’s condo – all of us enjoying each others’ company for Wednesday night dinner.
  • Mary and Dad toasting with a glass of wine on our front walkway just after Mary lost her own Mom.  Dad was a source of strength for her during that time too.

It’s time to go.  It’s time to say good-bye.. or at least TTFN.

My first greeting in the morning continues to flash as a random light from the front room as I walk away and move on with life.

“TTFN, Mom and Dad.”, I say to the photo of Mom giving Dad a peck on the cheek on the occasion of their 61st wedding anniversary.  TTFN

Bill and Paula Duff

Summer Smiles

 

 

 

 

 

Categories: Life After Dad, Mom | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “The Photo Frame in the Front Room

  1. Daniela

    Your love for your parents always touches me deeply …
    Take Care,
    Daniela

    • THanks so much, Daniela. I was very blessed to have them. Don’t think for a moment, though, that it was all good – in the end – the good does triumph and I am so pleased that I was able to know them as an adult.

  2. A darling picture of summer smiles 🙂

    • Mom would have been horrified as she hated her teeth showing – but I loved this one as it DID look like summer was smiling. Thanks, RoSy!

  3. Awesome memories!!!!! 🙂 Take Care and God Bless Kenny T

    • Thanks, Kenny. And thank-YOU for your eternal support – especially when Dad was alive – he really got a kick out of your comments. TTFN

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

