Lobster Tales


I was exposed to lobster tales when I was knee-high to a grasshopper.

I guess Dad’s loyalty to the industry came from his days of patrolling the Northumberland Straits during World War II.  He and his buddies, when on break, would often be invited to visit lighthouses where a feast of lobster would be served.  Some of the lighthouse operators had daughters, and, Dad would explain to me that pilots in those days were considered a pretty good catch themselves.  I guess Dad was no exception.  (He only had eyes for my beautiful mother at that time and so the lighthouse “Dads” were out of luck before they even knew it!)

In any case – it was here where Dad learned the fine art of cracking and consuming lobster.

There was no part of the lobster spared when Dad was through – other than the eyes and the shell.  Even the legs and the material already digested by the lobster itself was “succulent”, as Dad would describe it.

I remember Dad recounting a story about how he and Mom went to dine with their friends Floyd and Francis in Dundas one time.  On the “all -you – can – eat” menu was lobster.  I guess it wasn’t really all you can eat as Dad’s feast was halted after 13 lobsters.

And it wasn’t just the fact that he ate the pre-digested green stuff that had people stunned, it was that he was given everyone else’s carcus with pre-digested material too.  So – imagine at the end of the feast there would be over 20 lobsters waiting for Dad to “enjoy”.

Lobster – which is why Red Lobster was our dining choice after Dad’s inurnment – has been an important meal to the Duff family.  It would be served to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, and the arrival of special guests. Of course, accompanying the lobster would be Dad’s home-made wine – the body-builder.

Dad always said the best part of the lobster is the tail – but I’ve always liked the lobster “tales” better.  Grin.

TTFN

Categories: Duff History, Life After Dad, Life's Lessons | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Lobster Tales

  1. A nice tale 🙂

  2. Can I come over for lobster dinner? I don’t think I even had lobster until I was in my 30’s and have only had it a total of 4 times in my life. Of course I love it!!!

    TTFN

    • You bet you can! Wish I could say I’d fish it fresh for you – but being in southern Ontario does not afford me that luxury! When Dad was in his late 80s, 90s, I must confess my Mom used to purchase him the frozen “tins” of lobster and that’s one of the last meals that Dad and I ate together. We were celebrating his life. I’ll await your arrival, Nancy! TTFN

  3. Chatter Master

    🙂 I love the story. But am still grossed out by his “succulent” treat.

  4. duffythewriter

    Hi, I loved your blog and beign a fellow Duff (who lives in Sydney Australia) I thought I would pop a link to your blog on mine. I always like to promote a fellow Duff! Great blog and what a great way to learn about your fathers history and to build a father daughter relationship.

    • Didn’t know there were any “Duffs” in Australia. I wonder how we connect – if we do? I am certainly curious to see if we have any writing commonalities and so shall pop back onto your blog. Thanks so much for your feed-back about High Flight. ANd it certainly did bring Dad and I closer – to more common ground. I would highly recommend this interaction to everyone.
      TTFN.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

