Just a Poor Dirt Farmer’s Sweater…


Dad’s “poor dirt farmer” sweater began like this one, I’m sure.

It is a warm and cozy cardigan that goes with just about everything.

When I wear it I feel comfortable and secure.

Dad’s “poor dirt farmer” sweater felt like that to him too, I’m sure.

The original was warm and comfortable and, much to Mom’s chagrin, went with everything.

When he wore it, he felt comfortable and secure … I’m sure.

Dad’s sweater was probably 20 years old – or more, and the elbows had worn through on it.  Mom wanted to patch it – but Dad would have nothing of it – it was comfortable the way it was.

Most of Dad’s clothes were old – he was of the age when things would be worn for practical purposes – not fashion.   Again, this was much to Mom’s chagrin.  Mom was very fashionable – a bit of a diva in her time – without the attitude.

Cleaning out Dad’s closet today revealed an array of clothes that lay in testimony to this “practical” side.  I found his farmer’s hat, complete with sweat stains that were well established through his toils in the raspberry patch.  What to do with it?  Well, it went into a separate pile that just can’t be negotiated at this point.   I found golf shirts that dated back to the farm when he wore them for guests.  Yes, they may have been a little thinner and faded through use and time, but they were still functional.  “Don’t throw them out, Stacey.” , echoed in my mind.  “I don’t need any new clothes. The clothes I have are fine.”  But I HAD purchased multiple pairs of pants for him in the latter years that had an elastic waist – much easier to slip on and off in emergencies.  The Bay was not going to carry them anymore I found out last Christmas and, anticipating that Dad would never die, I bought 6 new pairs.  There they were – neatly folded waiting to be used.  sigh.   I can only hope some lucky person finds them as useful as Dad did.

Two of Dad’s sweaters came home with me.  I am wearing one now during this very rainy day.  I think I will wear them for 20 years or more.  The only issue is that I am not a farmer and so can only imagine what “my” title will be?  The Poor Dirt Farmer’s Daughter?  Ah.  I could only be so lucky.

Dad’s “poor dirt farmer” sweater began like this one, I’m sure.

It was a warm and cozy cardigan that went with just about everything.

When I wear it I feel comfortable and secure.

I feel like Dad is with me.

One day, my sweater may be a “Sunday” kind of sweater too – no holes barred!

Grin

TTFN

Categories: Duff History, Family and Friends, Life After Dad, Life's Lessons | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Just a Poor Dirt Farmer’s Sweater…

  1. Alice

    Nothing better than a comfort sweater–especially from someone so loved.

    • You are so right, Alice. Just finished dishes wearing the sweater – and they didn’t seem so bad – okay – yes they did – but I’d like to think the sweater would take away the pain of dinner dishes (grin).

  2. Wearing the sweater is like a hug from your dad. A touching story.

  3. Chatter Master

    I bet you make your dad chuckle. The great thing about a sweater like that is, you see it, and any worries about what you should wear disappear. You wear it for all of the right reasons. Fashion be damned, it’s got nothing on love and comfort.

    • Oh – them are wise words, Chatter Master. I agree it’s all about perspective! Once a month, I affirm that fashion be damned and I’m all about comfort. Grin. Dad and I did do a lot of chuckling together. He always said his purpose in the latter years was to make people happy – he was a great role model on that front!

      • Chatter Master

        What a great purpose your dad had. To know you brought happiness to someone. And my fashion is no fashion. So I never have to worry about taking a break! 🙂

      • grin.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

