Firsts


This is the first time my parents have not called me on my birthday.

This is the first time my mother-in-law has sung me happy birthday in Tukkie – Tukkie (not sure if that’s how it’s spelled)

This is the first time my husband and daughter have attended a visitation for a young girl whose life was tragically snatched at a too young age.

This is the first time I’ve been 49.

This is the first time I’ve been “without” words.  Sorry – this post will be short and sweet.  I would like, however, to say, “To all of you who have been following Dad’s/ my blog… “thank-you.”  It’s the first time I’ve publicly offered you my appreciation for all the feed-back you’ve given and “hits” Dad was so proud of while he was alive. Your support of this blog is one of the best birthday gifts I could receive… next only to the gift of my beautiful family.  I am truly blessed. ”

Cheers!  And…. TTFN

Categories: Family and Friends, Life After Dad, Life's Lessons | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Firsts

  1. I’m the First to Like!!! 🙂

  2. Chatter Master

    Happy Birthday! And sorry for some of those firsts. They’re usually the hardest. Happy you are blessed.

    • Thanks for that – sounds like my day was easier than yours has been lately. TTFn

      • Chatter Master

        😉 All is good when I can come home and destress with my writing. It doesn’t take long for me to get over things.

  3. Here’s to you on your birthday and to getting through some tough firsts! Happy birthday!

  4. Alice

    It won’t be the last time I say, your words move hearts.

  5. Stacey, thanks so much for sharing these lovely words. You have a natural writing ability. I’m hoping you’ll keep writing as I for one will enjoy following you. As you continue on your healing journey please remember you have friends here, online, in the blogging world. Always remember that, just a click away. Hope your birthday was a happy one! 🙂

    • Thanks, so much, Penny. I am very flattered that you feel I can write – and pleased as my Dad would have been so proud.. he always wanted to be a writer himself. Another first – to have this blogging community as a means of support. I do feel that my journey has been healthy thanks to the support of people, like you, who offer such wonderful words of encouragement. I had a wonderful day – and today and looking forward to celebrating my eldest boy – Ben. TTFN

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

