Omar Khayyam


Mom and Dad both used to quote this passage to me when I was young.  Then, I had no appreciation for it – whatever that “finger” was I had no idea.

Today – the passage resonates.  Maybe I’ll start reciting it to my own children.

 

“The Moving Finger writes; and having writ,

Moves on:  nor all thy Piety nor Wit

Shall lure it back to cancel half a Line,

Nor all thy Tears wash out a Word of it.”

 

They also used to say something like, “Sans eyes, sans teeth, sans all..”  but I haven’t found the source of that yet –

TTFN

Categories: Life After Dad, Life's Lessons | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

