Smile


It was two years ago, today, that I wrote this post on behalf of my father. The image that is the most powerful remains the one of my Dad smiling. He didn’t know, at this point, what I was writing. He was “out of stories”, as he put it. Yes, I just sensed what I felt he would say. Funny how you can get to know someone so well that you can communicate by just being.

My Dad’s smile was famous in his building. He was known as “Smiley” by all the women. Of course, my Mom saw the other side of the smile on occasion! grin. Nonetheless, Dad’s reputation earned him a very flattering nick-name. He was proud of this nick-name.

So many times, Dad made others smile. He told me – near the end – that he thought he had figured out his purpose. When I invited him to share his insight, Dad was hesitant. Finally, he said, “I think my purpose was to make people happy”. I thought that was so wise. I thought it so appropriate, remembering the reputation he had earned as an “entertainer” because of the long string of jokes that he would tell around the bonfire all night long. Honestly, the jokes and the songs would never end. I thought it so right – for a man who earned the nick-name, “Smiley”.

Two years later— I hope you enjoy this repost as a tribute to my Dad.

– Stacey

Original Post:
One of my wife, Paula’s favorite songs was composed by Charlie Chaplin and her favorite rendition was sung by the man with the golden voice, Nat King Cole:  Smile

I’ve re-copied the lyrics for your reading pleasure (feel free to sing along in your head as you read if you like!)

As I have reached yet another mile-stone in my life and feel myself with less and less energy, I have felt it important to smile.  And that’s what people who meet me comment on.  I’m glad I can make them smile.

Smile, though your heart is aching

Smile even though its breaking

When there are clouds in the sky, you’ll get by

If you smile through your fear and sorrow

Smile and maybe tomorrow

You’ll see the sun come shining through for you

 

Light up your face with gladness

Hide every trace of sadness

Although a tear may be ever so near

That’s the time you must keep on trying

Smile, what’s the use of crying?

You’ll find that life is still worthwhile

If you just smile

 

That’s the time you must keep on trying

Smile, what’s the use of crying?

You’ll find that life is still worthwhile

If you just smile!

 

Cheers!

Dad's smile earned him a bit of a reputation!

Dad’s smile earned him a bit of a reputation!

Categories: Duff History, Life's Lessons, Mom | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Smile

  1. My wife walked into the kitchen just as I finished reading your post and I asked her if she new the song “Smile” by Nat King Cole. She didn’t say a word she just started singing. I felt like I was watching an old Mitch Miller TV show, I followed along with the lyrics you provided in your Post:-). After she completed the song we talked about Nat and other singers that seem to cross over generational gaps. We loved it!!! Keep it up, have a wonderful weekend and God Bless!!!!!

  2. Pingback: Smart choices: even if life turns you down smile back « Luna12780's Blog

  3. Reblogged this on High Flight and commented:

    Two years later.. he is still smiling in my heart!

  4. What a beautiful tribute in your dad’s memory.
    May your parents continue to rest in peace.
    {Hugs}

    • THanks, RoSy – and so good to hear from you again. It’s been a while since I’ve been on the blog. Hope to be back to visit all of your inpirational words.

  5. How lovely. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

