To and From India… with love…


It is a long way between India and Yorkton, Saskatchewan.

During the war, there was really only one way to communicate with loved ones and that was through snail- mail, or what was known then as, postal services.

It was through letters, many, many letters that I kept in touch with Paula – and she with me.

The mail, however, was very unpredictable.  Often, I would receive a dozen or so letters all at once.  And sometimes, I would receive no letters at all.

The mail arrived every day.  There was never any fixed time when it would come.  It came by boat.  We never knew when it arrived – but we all believed we had some sort of special mental telegraph as we could “tell” when the boat came.

Everyone rushed to the post office anxiously awaiting to hear news from home.  Letters were very important and when they came – you’d feel elated.  When they didn’t come you would feel pretty down.

The good thing was that all the letters came at the same time for everyone – so no one was really left out.

I saved my letters.  But Paula, before we were married, burned hers.  She often wished she had kept them as they were somewhat like National Geographic in that there were many times I wrote about India and Ceylon (Sri Lanka).

When the letters arrived I was over-joyed.  But can you imagine answering 15 letters at once?  I tried to sort them by date and answer the most recent ones first.

We could get recordings of the latest songs just s fast from Dumdum, India as we could get letters from Canada.

Imagine a Dumbum delivery service better than Canada’s postal service?  I guess some things never change.

Categories: World War II | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “To and From India… with love…

  1. I have read some of my fathers letters from when he was overseas and the thing I remember the most was he was always started out talking about the mail and whether he got any letters from Mom. I found the same thing. There would be a dry spell and then all of his mail would catch up with him. But now in his story he is still training and has yet to go overseas.

    Thank you so much for sharing. Your memories are important and historical. Thank you for your service.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

